Excuses.

“I just don’t have enough time to exercise”

“I don’t have enough money to buy a gym membership/healthy foods”

“I’ll start after (insert special occasion here)”

I get it. I really, really, really do. But that’s bullshit. 

I know, I sound like an asshole, but just hear me out. I’m a single mom to a toddler, I work full time, I always used to have the same excuse about how I’ll start after thanksgiving or Christmas or whatever was coming up where I got to eat. The thing is, every excuse I used to make was bullshit. I make the time, I buy off brand, I force myself to stay motivated because if I don’t, I’ll never make progress.

Seriously, I just got done walking up and down my driveway for 30 minutes at 10 pm while my son is sleeping. I have to be up at 6 tomorrow morning. It’s 40 degrees outside for fuck’s sake. But, I did it. Why? Because I chose to. I didn’t make any excuses about it being too late, me being too tired, or any other millions of reasons I could have skipped walking tonight. I just did it.

Before you say “but Flo, I have medical issues”.

I do too.

I have psoriatic arthritis in my knees, hips, and ankles. I have asthma. I’m fuckin obese! I still do it.
You will never make changes if you don’t do it, so shut up and do it.

Leave a Reply

